Ryan Bourque Named Wolf Pack's 2014-15 IOA/American Specialty Man of the Year

Apr 2, 2015

The Wolf Pack are proud to announce that Ryan Bourque has been named the team’s winner of the IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year award for his outstanding contributions to the Hartford community during the 2014-15 season.

Bourque, who was also the Wolf Pack’s winner of this award last season, once again established himself this year as the “go-to guy” for Wolf Pack community relations, consistently seeking out further ways to offer his time and energy for the betterment of the local community at large. He spearheaded player participation in two key outreach programs, the Wolf Pack’s “Read to the Rink” reading program and “Kindness Pledge” campaign, and encouraged teammates to join him in visits to Connecticut Children’s Medical Center. Ryan was also front-and-center at each of the Wolf Pack’s full-team events, the Bowl-a-Thon for Special Olympics, team skate at the outdoor rink in Hartford’s Bushnell Park and season ticket-holder “meet the team” outing, spreading goodwill and giving generously of himself at every opportunity.

Bourque is now one of 30 finalists for the AHL’s 2014-15 Yanick Dupre Memorial Award, honoring the overall IOA/American Specialty AHL Man of the Year. The league award is named after the former Hershey Bears forward and AHL All-Star who died in 1997 following a 16-month battle with leukemia. The winner of the Yanick Dupre Memorial Award will be announced by the American Hockey League later this month.

Back to All